CODA ApeldoornMuseumArchief2014Kettingreacties: sieraden en portretten van Claartje Keur Chain Reactions: Claartje Keur’s jewellery and portraits (EN)
Nederlands

Chain Reactions: Claartje Keur’s jewellery and portraits

30.01 to 30.03.2014

Chain Reactions: Claartje Keur’s jewellery and portraits

30.01 to 30.03.2014

What started with a few silver chains and pendants in the 1970s, grew into a unique collection of jewellery. Claartje Keur (1938) has been collecting jewellery for over thirty years, specialising in neck jewellery. From 30 January until 30 March 2014 CODA Museum exhibits seventy necklaces from her collection. The exhibition combines this neck jewellery with the photo portraits of designers Claartje Keur made over the years.

Claartje Keur started her jewellery collection by buying a brooch designed by Sita Falkena from gallery Ra in Amsterdam in 1983. Three years later this was followed by a necklace and bracelet by Emmy van Leersum, and in 1990 Keur made her first big neck jewellery purchase. In 1998, her collection consisted of thirty necklaces made by renowned jewellery designers. Today, the collection encompasses seventy pieces of neck jewellery from the best-known artists and jewellery designers.

Claartje Keur’s interest in neck jewellery goes back to her students days (Technical College, chemical technology) when she was given a necklace with a wrought-iron pendant in the shape of a small man. This pendant comforted her in difficult times. According to Keur, neck jewellery does not only act as a talisman, it also poses a challenge to both the maker and the wearer. How does it sit on the body? How does it change your aura?

Even though her collection now consists of more than seventy necklaces, collecting was not Keur’s original aim. “I did make a very conscious decision to spend money on jewellery, but at first it was mainly out of interest. You simply turn into a collector at a certain point; usually when others describe you as such.” Buying jewellery is a matter of taste, preference, personal contacts, and of course budget. Keur is interested in modern art and photography and has a preference for neck jewellery designed by artists who have graduated from Dutch academies. Diversity of materials was also an important factor. Keur: “I buy from as many artists as possible, in as many (unusual) materials as possible. I abhor ‘things on strings’, and I am not all that keen on gold.” The Chain Reactions exhibition in CODA Museum shows how each purchase is a reaction to the previous jewel, and predicts elements, shapes or materials in the next piece.

Being a photographer, Keur photographed the jewellery makers whose work she bought from the beginning. “Taking photos in the artist’s studio led to more contact with the artist. That really added value for me.” In addition to the portrait of the jewellery maker, Keur always makes a self-portrait in which she wears the necklace she acquired. The photo shows how the jewel looks when worn, how it sits on the body, and it gives an indication of size. “Because I nearly always choose an urban setting for a background, the jewel becomes less pretentious. It says ‘you can wear this jewel any time’. I turn this photo into two postcards; one for the artist, one for me.” These postcards are also integrated into the exhibition.

The contact and the bond with the artist have added meaning to the collection for Claartje Keur. It makes her collection, which charts the development of the Dutch jewel over the past thirty years, unique.

Exhibiting artists

Gijs Assmann www.gijsassmann.com | Gijs Bakker www.gijsbakker.com | Ralph Bakker www.ralphbakker.nl |
Laura Bakker www.laurabakker.com | Peggy Bannenberg www.peggybannenberg.nl | Ela Bauer www.elabauer.com | Dinie Besems www.diniebesems.nl | Rob Birza | Onno Boekhoudt | Bas Bouman | Laura Braspenning www.laurabraspenning.nl | Mecky van den Brink www.meckyvandenbrink.com | Paul Derrez |
Nicolas Dings www.nicolasdings.nl | Jacomijn van der Donk www.jacomijnvanderdonk.nl |
Iris Eichenberg www.iriseichenberg.nl | Sita Falkena | Jantje Fleischhut www.jantjefleischhut.com | Hilde Foks www.hildefoks.nl | Helen Frik www.helenfrik.nl | Marijke de Goey www.marijkedegoey.com | Willemijn de Greef www.willemijndegreef.nl | Gesine Hackenberg www.gesinehackenberg.com | Petra Hartmann | Ineke Heerkens www.inekeheerkens.nl | Maria Hees www.mariahees.kunstinzicht.nl | Marion Hebst | Herman Hermsen |
Peter Hoogeboom www.peterhoogeboom.nl | Hans Hovy www.hanshovy.nl | Stephanie Jendis | Rian de Jong |
Beppe Kessler www.beppekessler.nl | Beate Klockmann www.beateklockmann.com | Danielle Koninkx |
Manon van Kouswijk | Birgit Laken www.birgitlaken.nl | Emmy van Leersum | Felieke van der Leest www.feliekevanderleest.com | Nel Linssen www.nellinssen.nl | Lous Martin www.galerielousmartin.nl |
Julie Mollenhauer | Chequita Nahar | Riet Neerincx | Evert Nijland www.evertnijland.nl | Ted Noten www.tednoten.com | Carla Nuis www.carlanuis.nl | Ruudt Peters www.ruudtpeters.nl | Annelie Planteydt | Katja Prins www.katjaprins.com | Mi-Ah Rödiger www.mi-ah.com | Liesbeth Rommers www.liesbethrommers.nl | Maria Roosen www.mariaroosen.com | Philip Sajet www.philipsajet.com | Nina Sajet www.ninasajet.nl | Lucy Sarneel | Rob Scholte | Constanze Schreiber www.constanzeschreiber.com | Robert Smit | Chris Steenbergen | Thea Tolsma www.theatolsma.nl | Terhi Tolvanen www.terhitolvanen.com | Miriam Verbeek www.miriamverbeek.nl | Truike Verdegaal | Carel Visser | Marcel Wanders www.marcelwanders.com | Marieke Wijers | Lam de Wolf www.lamdewolf.nl | Reka Fekete www.feketereka.com | Wim Vonk www.wvonk.nl |

Address and directions                   Opening hours                Admission fee

 

 

Delen via:
Zoek in collecties